From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Simon, Martha.bmp

 Biography: [edit | edit source]

My name is legally Martha  Simon but I have went by the nickname Marty since I was in grade school. I served a Part-time Church Service Mission in the Worldwide Patron Support of the Family and History Department at the Joseph Smith Memorial Building in Salt Lake City, Utah from 2010-2011. I started serving a service mission in the ROC Family History at the Riverton Family History Library in Riverton, Utah in December 2016.

I was born in Chillicothe, Ross Co., Ohio and raised in Northern California my first 3 years but we moved to Southern Oregon when I was 4 years old. I am a convert to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and was baptized in 1978 while living in Happy Camp in Northern California. I have always been interested in Ancient Civilizations, especially in North America, and my curiosity about them helped to lead me to the Church.

 Education and Work Experience:[edit | edit source]

I am a High School Graduate of Medford High School in Medford, Oregon. Some College classes I have taken include graduating from Basic Police Training and EMT Training while volunteering on a local ambulance service in Eagle Pt., Oregon. I also worked as a volunteer on a Mountain Search and Rescue group in the Rogue Valley area in Southern Oregon. 

I was a single parent for many years and supported my children and myself by working as a Data Entry Operator at various jobs for over 20 years. I moved to Utah in 1979 and later met and married my husband Clark here in 1981. worked for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing in the State of Utah for about 18 years, retiring in 2005.

Church Service Experience:[edit | edit source]

My husband and I served as Church Service Missionaries for three years at the Magna Bishop's Storehouse and we enjoyed serving and meeting a lot of wonderful people.We are currently serving as ward missionaries at our Ward. I am also serving as the Ward Family History Consultant.

Family History Background:[edit | edit source]

Thanks to my parents, I was raised on stories of my ancestors so it created an interest and love of my ancestors at an early age.  I know I was born with the spirit of Elijah with my heart turned to my ancestors and my main mission in this life is to research and find them. I have been continuously researching my family history since joining the Church. I am currently trying to write histories of some of my ancestors so that my grandchildren will know about them, not having met them here on Earth. 

 Genealogical Areas of Interest:[edit | edit source]

I have found many of my ancestors but for years my brick walls have been and still are:

Agnes Galeon, who married my 3GGrandfather, Green Womack, 17 Jan 1828, in Hardin Co., Illinois. I believe she was born in Tennessee and her father was Joseph Galeon but would like to find documentation to prove that;

William Burris who married my 4GGrandmother, Eleanor Frakes on 22 Jan 1811 in Hardin Co., Kentucky. I would like to know who his parents were.

Hannah Daugherty, supposedly born in Ireland in 1760,  who lived in Pennsylvania and Kentucky with her husband, Henry Frakes. I really want to find out who her parents were.


1940 US Census Project.png This user participated in the 1940 US Census Community Project.

Member of the Featured Article Committee This user is a member of the Featured Article Committee.

Broom icon.png This user likes to cleanup the wiki.

FamilySearch Indexing icon.png This user likes to index records.

United States flag.png This user lives in the United States.

Billiongraves twitter icon.png This user is a contributor to the BillionGraves database of cemetery records.

en This user is a native speaker of English

Flag of Ireland.png This user is of Irish ancestry.

Flag of Germany.png This user is of German ancestry.