From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

My Profile

I have been researching family history off and on for over 40 years.  I was first introduced to it through church and family members.  It is something that I enjoy doing and like the challenge of the hunt.  My main focus for research has been in Northern Indiana and Northern Ohio. I am also beginning my research in Germany. Many of my ancestors come from there and I don't read German or speak it very well.  I do enjoy teaching at the Family History Center and helping others learn to navigate the software and websites.

Early Years
Born and raised in Northern Indiana and grew up on a working family farm. Went to the same school for all 12 grades of school with the same 35-38 kids all 12 grades. Attended Indiana University South Bend Campus where I studied elementary education. I was introduced to the church by a friend and joined in 1969. Shortly after joining the church I met and married a returned missionary and we moved to Washington State to make our home. We raised four of our own children and adopted one. Now enjoying thirteen grandchildren to date!

Church Work
I have had the wonderful opportunites of serving in most of the Auxiliary Organizations of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Currently, I am pleased to be able to serve as Ward Family History Consultant and as a Family History Sunday School Teacher in my ward. Volunteering at the Tacoma Family History Center for many years has been a joy and is never a job. Currently I am Chairman of the Book Committee working on reorganizing the book collection. Our ultimate goal to link to Family Search Wiki page as a resource.

Employment and Volunteer Work
My family has started and owned several small businesses over the years. Doing the bookkeeping was my main responsibility, except for our windsock business where I was also the designer. While my children were young I started a local 4-H club and was the leader for several years. I have served on the Board of Directors for a local non-profit organization called Parent Party Patrol and was the President for two years. While I was a member of our local Kiwanis Club, I served as Secretary and Newsletter Editor. I enjoyed volunteering and working at the executive level of the Tacoma Pierce County Boys & Girls Clubs for many years. My main focus was working closely on the administration level in organizing the annual Auction for the Clubs. It was a major event each year which brought in thousands of dollars for the expansion of the clubs in Pierce County.

My family is my number one priority after my Heavenly Father and the Gospel. I enjoy my grandchildren immensely. Some of my leisure activities are reading, music, and travel. I hope to do some more traveling to visit some of the natural wonders of this glorious world we live in. Sewing is a favorite hobby as well as genealogy research. My greatest enjoyment is spending time with family and friends.

en This user is a native speaker of English
United States flag.png This user lives in the United States Genealogy.
1940 US Census Project.png This user participated in the 1940 US Census Community Project.
FamilySearch Indexing icon.png This user likes to index records.
RootsTech.gif This user watched the live stream of RootsTech 2011.
RootsTech2012.gif This user watched the live stream of RootsTech 2012.
RootsTech2013-app-icon.png This user watched the live stream of RootsTech 2013.
Flag of Germany.png This user is of German ancestry.