Information icon.png The FamilySearch Research Wiki will be down for maintenance on Sunday, Sept. 27, at 11:59 pm until Monday, Sept 28, 4:00 am EDT.

Breconshire Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Breconshire Wiki Topics
Brecknockshire arms.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

For a list of archives and libraries on the national level, go to the Wales Archives and Libraries page.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Brecon Library
Ship Street
Brecon, Powys LD3 9AE UK
Telephone: 01874 623346
Email: brecon.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Brecon Library

Builth Wells Library
Antur Gwy
Park Road
Builth Wells, Powys LD2 3BA UK
Telephone: 01982 552722
Email: builth.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Builth Wells Library

Crickhowell Library
Silver Street
Crickhowell, Powys NP8 1BJ UK
Telephone: 01873 810856
Email: crickhowell.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Crickhowell Library

Hay Library
Chancery Lane
Hay-on-Wye, Powys HR3 5BL UK
Telephone: 01497 820847
Email: hay.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Hay Library

Llanwrtyd Library
Ysgol Dolafon C.P.
Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys LD5 4RA UK
Telephone: 01591 610657
Email: llanwrtyd.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Llanwrtyd Library

Talgarth Library
Ysgol y Mynydd Du
Hay Road
Talgarth, Powys LD3 0DQ UK
Telephone: 07970 220369
Email: talgarth.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Talgarth Library

Ystradgynlais Library
Temperance Street
Ystradgynlais, Powys SA9 1JJ UK
Telephone: 01639 845353
Email: ystrad.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Ystradgynlais Library

Museums[edit | edit source]

Brecknock Museum & Art Gallery
Watton Mount Offices
Brecon, Powys LD3 7DF UK
Telephone: 01874 624121
Email: brecknock.museum@powys.gov.uk
Website: Brecknock Museum & Art Gallery

Brecknock Museum & Art Gallery is one of the finest and liveliest small museums in Wales. First established in 1928 by the Brecknock Society, it occupies an historic building at the heart of an outstandingly attractive area with a rich and varied past. It offers fascinating glimpses of this past.

The Regimental Museum of The Royal Welsh (Brecon) (Amgueddfa Gatrodol y Cymry Brenhinol (Aberhonddu))
The Barracks
Brecon, Powys LD3 7EB UK
Telephone: 01874 613310
Email: info@royalwelsh.org.uk
Website: The Regimental Museum of The Royal Welsh (Brecon)

On display at the museum, for all to see, is one of the finest collections of military artefacts. These tell the story of a regiment that has participated in many of the great events of British History in the last 300 years.

Archives[edit | edit source]

Powys Archives
Unit 29
Ddole Road Enterprise Park
Llandrindod Wells, Powys LD1 6DF UK
Telephone: 01597 826088
Email: archives@powys.gov.uk
Website: Powys Archives

The Powys County Archives Office serves as the official repository for the records of the current county of Powys (established in 1974) and the three incorporated former counties of Breconshire, Montgomeryshire, and Radnorshire.