Banffshire Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Banffshire Wiki Topics
Banffshire.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources

For a list of archives and libraries on the national level, go to the Scotland Archives and Libraries page.

Archives[edit | edit source]

Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives
Town House
Broad Street
Aberdeen AB10 1AQ UK
Telephone: 01224 522513
Email: archives@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives

Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives exists to collect and preserve historical records relating to the City of Aberdeen and the surrounding historic counties, and to secure significant modern records for future generations.

Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives
Old Aberdeen House
Dunbar Street
Aberdeen AB24 3UJE UK
Telephone: 01224 481775
Email: archives@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives

Since local government reorganisation in 1996, the historic documents of Aberdeenshire Council have been administered by Aberdeen City Council. The records include those of the former counties of Aberdeen, Kincardine, and Banff up to 1975 and Grampian Region from 1975 to 1996. From 1996 the holdings include records from the current county of Aberdeenshire.

Aberdeenshire and Moray Records
The Local Heritage Officer
East End School
Institution Road
Elgin, Moray IV30 1RP UK
Telephone: 01343 569011
Email: heritage@moray.gov.uk
Website: Aberdeenshire and Moray Records

Since local government reorganisation in 1996, the historic documents of Aberdeenshire Council along with some for the Moray Council have been administered by Aberdeen City Council. The records include those of the former counties of Aberdeen, Kincardine, Banff, and Moray up to 1975 and Grampian Region from 1975 to 1996. From 1996 the holdings include records from the current counties of Aberdeenshire and Moray.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Aberlour Library
94 High Street
Aberlour AB38 9QA UK
Telephone: 01340 871693
Email: aberlour.library@moray.gov.uk
Website: Aberlour Library

Banff Library
High Street
Banff AB45 1AE UK
Telephone: 01261 455752
Email: banff.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Banff Library

Bracoden Library
Bracoden School
Gamrie, Banff AB45 3HA UK
Telephone: 01261 455754
Email: bracoden.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Bracoden Library

Buckie Library
Cluny Place
Buckie AB56 1HB UK
Telephone: 01542 832121
Email: buckie.library@moray.gov.uk
Website: Buckie Library

Cullen Library
Seafield Road
Cullen AB56 4AF UK
Telephone: 01542 841140
Email: cullen.library@moray.gov.uk
Website: Cullen Library

Dufftown Library
Balvenie Street
Dufftown AB55 4AB UK
Telephone: 01340 820272
Email: dufftown.library@moray.gov.uk
Website: Dufftown Library

Macduff Library
17 High Street
Macduff AB44 1LR UK
Telephone: 01261 455750
Email: macduff.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Macduff Library

Portsoy Library
Aird Green
Portsoy AB45 2RH UK
Telephone: 01261 455753
Email: portsoy.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Portsoy Library

Tomintoul Library
Tomintoul Primary School
Cults Drive
Tomintoul AB37 9HA UK
Telephone: 01807 580755
Email: tomintoul.library@moray.gov.uk
Website: Tomintoul Library

Whitehills Library
Loch Street
Whitehills, Banff AB45 2LT UK
Telephone: 01261 455751
Email: whitehills.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Whitehills Library

For a list of Banffshire libraries, go to List of libraries in Scotland in Wikipedia. Scroll down to Aberdeenshire. The parishes in historic Banffshire are listed in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Banff Museum
Castle Street
Banff AB45 1AE UK
Telephone: 01261 812941
Email: bphsmob@gmail.com
Website: Banff Museum

Buckie & District Fishing Heritage Centre
10 Cluny Place
Buckie AB56 1HB UK
Telephone: 01542 834702
Email: web@buckieheritage.org
Website: Buckie & District Fishing Heritage Centre

Gardenstown Heritage Centre
88 Main St
Gardenstown AB45 3YS UK
Telephone: 01261 851340
Email: enquiries@kathleensbandb.com
Website: Gardenstown Heritage Centre

Salmon Bothy Museum
Links Road
Portsoy AB45 2SS UK
Telephone: 01261 842474
Email: contact@salmonbothy.org
Website: The Salmon Bothy Museum

Tomintoul Museum and Tourist Information Centre
81 Main St
Tomintoul, Ballindalloch AB37 9HA UK
Telephone: 01309 673701
Email: discovery@tgdt.org.uk
Website: Tomintoul Museum and Tourist Information Centre

For a list of Banffshire museums, go to List of museums in Scotland in Wikipedia. Scroll down to Aberdeenshire. The parishes in historic Banffshire are listed in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.